Travel Tips On The Fly: Consider Festivals

I’m not perfect, guys.

I’m far from it, and I’m reminded of that fact every day, but this time I really screwed up.

And since chances are that I won’t be able to fix this screw up, the least I can do is share it with you so you won’t make the same mistake!

Pray for me, ya’ll…

Embed from Getty Images

Many people would consider flexibility as being the key to being able to travel. I agree, but I also recently learned it can also be the key to completely screwing up your travel plans.

I’d been planning to take a trip back to Puerto Rico since October.

My only real guidelines were that it be after the holidays, and sometime when it would likely still be freezing here on the East Coast (though as of December 31st, 2014, we actually still haven’t gotten any real snow yet…)

I picked a random week in January, bought my tickets, requested the time off at work, and called it a day.

I don’t even know how what happened next happened.

If I remember correctly, I was online looking for different things to do during my trip. One link led to another, and suddenly, I was confronted with a not-so-little piece of information I’d completely forgotten about.

San Sebastian Street Festival, which just so happens to occur about a week or so before I’m set to arrive in Puerto Rico.

Image Credit: paul sableman via flickr.com  Source   License

Image Credit: paul sableman
via flickr.com
Source
License

First, lets get an idea of what la Calle de San Sebastian and the areas around it look like on a “normal” day.

Image Credit: vxla via flickr.com  Source   License

Image Credit: vxla
via flickr.com
Source
License

A beautiful city with cobblestone streets, and colorful buildings.

And at night?

Image Credit: vxla via flickr.com  Source   License

Image Credit: vxla
via flickr.com
Source
License

A still-beautiful city that comes alive, and stays that way sometimes until the wee hours of the morning.

So, Old San Juan is charming and lively on any given day of the year, but let’s talk about during SanSe Festival.

During the day?

Image Credit:  Angel Xavier Viera-Vargas via flickr.com  Source   License

Image Credit: Angel Xavier Viera-Vargas
via flickr.com
Source
License

Displays of the island’s music and art all over the place.

Image Credit:  Jorge Rodriguez via flickr.com  Source   License

Image Credit: Jorge Rodriguez
via flickr.com
Source
License

Hordes of people of all ages visiting- not just from around the island, but from around the world, making it one of the Caribbean’s biggest festivals.

And by night?

Image Credit:  Angel Xavier Viera-Vargas via flickr.com  Source   License

Image Credit: Angel Xavier Viera-Vargas
via flickr.com
Source
License

Magic.

So, if you are lucky enough to have your pick on travel days, don’t make my mistake. One thing you may want to do is look into festivals, or concerts happening in the area you’d like to travel to, and factor those into your plans.

Learn from my mistakes, and check out this video to see what else goes down as Puerto Rico winds down from the holiday season.

Are there any festivals you have hopes of attending someday?

Leave a Reply

