Music To My Ears: City High ft. Eve- Caramel Remix (A.K.A The Song Every Woman Should Relate To)

“Music to My Ears” is a series of recurring posts showcasing the music of artists from around the world.


Image Credit:  www.audio-luci-store.it via flickr.com  Source   License

Image Credit: www .audio-luci-store.it
via flickr.com
Source
License

I’ve found that when most people think of City High, they think of “What Would You Do?”, which is also a song I love! But this one deserves more recognition because besides being catchy, it’s pretty darn bold.

About the Artists:

City High was active from the late 90’s through the early 2000’s. Though their reign was short, they put out a couple classics. (….and I mean “a couple” quite literally)

About the Song:

The tune to the chorus of this song was stuck in my head from ages 7 to 19, and I could not for the life of me remember who sang it. And it didn’t help that somehow as a kid, I’d apparently misheard the lyrics as “bye bye brown eyes…”.

But as it turns out, as you can see here, and here, I wasn’t the only one that had the lyrics totally wrong. Luckily, that last person managed to get an answer, and thus, I was reunited with “Caramel”.

Today, I watched this Buzzfeed video that talked about things that society (at least the society of the US) tells women they shouldn’t say. As is the case with lots of Buzzfeed’s content, it presented some serious problems in a humorous way.

One of the scenarios that struck me the most was when Quinta offered Allison a compliment, and Allison thanked her and agreed with it. Quinta appeared to be taken aback by her response, and offered a quick “ok” before walking away.

Even to my ears, Allison’s response sounded odd and somewhat conceited, but I had to check myself. Why is that?

Every day, I hear women criticizing themselves: their hair, or their bodies, or their freaking eyelashes for God’s sake. THEIR EYELASHES. It’s like it’s perfectly fine for women to talk down about themselves, but admitting they actually like something about themselves is somehow wrong.

How backward is that???

But I’m getting off track- this is a MTME post, not a Knotty Thoughts post…

So, what I like about this song is that throughout it, this woman is bragging (and I’m hesitant to even call it that because “bragging” has a negative connotation and I think every person should think of her or his self this highly). Even though she’s a simple girl, she knows her worth and she’s not afraid to let the world know that she knows. She seems open to relationships, but lets the man know he needs to come correct because she can stand on her own, and on top of that, she knows she’s a catch.

Why I Chose It:

Because a message like this is one that needs to be shared more often.

(Plus, it takes me back to elementary school, which is probably the last time I was actually anywhere close to being 5’5″- shout out to all my tall girls!)

In the comments, share something you like about yourself- I wanna see some bragging!

Enjoy the song!

Charly

Leave a Reply

