Music To My Ears: Amor En Practica- J Alvarez

“Music to My Ears” is a series of recurring posts showcasing the music of artists from around the world.


Image Credit:   Guian Bolisay   Source   License

Image Credit:
Guian Bolisay
Source
License

About the Artist:

The only thing I can really say about this guy is that he kind of came out of nowhere, all of a sudden was everywhere, and then it just stayed that way.

No joke, there was a period (sometime in 2012 I believe) when it seemed like every week, a new song of his was getting played to death on the radio. And if it wasn’t one of his songs, it was a song he was featured on.

Like I said, dude was everywhere.

He’s a reggaeton artist from Rio Piedras, Puerto Rico, and he’s definitely on the reggaeton “romantico” side of things. Most of his songs are about love, lust, and/or sex.

About the Song:

This song was released early last year, and talks of a love that was never meant to be.

It seems like the woman is in a relationship, so we’ve got the whole “we know what we’re doing is wrong, but we cant help ourselves” thing going on.

“Dejamos todo claro,
We made everything clear

no íbamos a enamorarnos,
We weren’t going to fall in love

no no no no,

nos distanciamos,
We distanced ourselves from each other

nos extrañamos,
We missed each other

nos encontramos y ahora todo cambio.
We got together, and now everything has changed

Why I Chose It:

Even though I’m not as big on this genre as I was when I was younger, reggaeton will always have a place in my heart.

For that reason, for years, I’ve taken it as my moral duty to expose people to reggaeton artists that aren’t Daddy Yankee or Don Omar.

Charly

Leave a Reply

